CLASSIC ∙ COMFORTABLE ∙ TIMELESS
The Normandy Story
The “Normandy Residence Hotel” opened in 1925, serving both long-term residents and short-term guests. The hotel had only 52 guest rooms, a lobby, a ladies parlor, a writing room, a drug store, a grocery store, and a dining room. The dining room, which operated as a speakeasy during prohibition, was in the basement.
In 1941, John F. Noble, a local entrepreneur and son of Swedish immigrants, purchased the hotel from the original owner. Noble changed the name to “Hotel Normandy” and began to establish the commercial hotel that Minnesotans and visitors have known for the past eight decades. Noble’s son, Tom, built the Normandy Village and Salon de Musique (a popular fine dining restaurant and piano bar) in 1957, making the Normandy a primary restaurant and banquet destination in Minneapolis.